Citizen DJ

Free Music Archive

Free Music Archive is a website devoted to distribution and curation of rights-free music. The Library of Congress has archived this website as part of its Web Cultures Web Archive, which includes sites documenting the creation and sharing of emergent cultural traditions on the web.

View this collection on the Library of Congress website

Download files in bulk

A set of 4361 audio samples have been automatically generated from this collection for use in your favorite music production software. It contains 265 audio segments and 4096 one-shot audio clips, ideal for use in samplers.

Rights & access

The works in this collection that are part of the Citizen DJ project have been dedicated to the public domain by their creators, thus are free to use and reuse without restriction. You can copy, modify, distribute and perform the works, even for commercial purposes, all without asking permission. Attribution is recommended but not required.

Why is this free to use?

Most music and recordings in the Free Music Archive are not in the public domain. However, Citizen DJ provides a subset of recordings from the Free Music Archive that were published under a Public domain dedication license by their creators, thus are in the public domain.

Suggested credit line

Citizen DJ Project, Free Music Archive archived website at the Library of Congress, Web Archives Division.

Browse & preview files

Click the files below to preview the audio segments: